If you have been pulled over and issued a ticket for driving on a suspended license or even arrested for driving on a suspended license you might have some questions.
Q: Why is my License Suspended?
A: This can vary widely depending on the state your license was issued. Here are some common reasons I have run into. This is not an exhaustive list and some of these reasons will not suspend you license in Kansas. However, if you have a suspended license in your home state you can still get a charge for driving on a suspended license in Kansas regardless if the offense would have suspended your license if you had a Kansas license.
1. Failure to pay a speeding ticket
2. Failure to go to court on a traffic violation
3. Failure to pay child support
4. Failure to have insurance on a vehicle
5. Stealing gas from a gas station
6. Conviction on a Minor in Possession charge
7. Failure to renew your driver's license
9. Suspension pending a DUI.
10. Failure to pay taxes due to the state
11. Too many points on license
12. Too many traffc violations inside of year
13. Failure to maintain an ignition interlock device in your vehicle
14. License revoked per the habitual offender act
15. Prior conviction for Driving on suspended license
16. Leaving the scene of an accident
17. Reckless driving.
18 Refusing to take a breathilizer
Q: I didn't know my license was suspended am I still in Trouble?
A: If you are caught driving while suspended, it does not matter if you knew or did not know your license was suspended.
Q: Will I really go to Jail?
A: If you are convicted, Yes, you will have a mandatory five days in jail.
Q: How can a Lawyer help?
A: Having an Attorney that knows what to do with a Suspended License Case is often the difference between Jail Time and just a fine. An experienced attorney can track down why your license was suspended, then get your license reinstated and avoid a conviction and jail time.
Q: Will I have to go to court if I hire an Attorney?
A: In many cases, an Attorney can handle a suspended license case without the client ever setting foot inside the courtroom.
Q: What are the different punishments for driving on a suspended license?
A:It varies widely from jurisdiction to jurisdiction and case to case. Some jurisdictions are more harsh on drivers, others are more lieniant. An experienced attorney can give you insight into your particular circumstance. For a first-time conviction Kansas law requires you receive 5 days in jail up to 6 months in jail.
Q: Can an Attorney keep me out of jail?
A: You have an increased chance of staying out of jail if you are represented by an attorney. An attorney can work to get your license reinstated and negotiate an amendment to the charge of Driving while suspended to a lesser charge, that doesn't have mandatory jail time.
Q: If my license is not able to be reinstated can an attorney still keep me out of jail?
A: You have an increased chance of staying out of jail if you are represented by an attorney. An attorney can try to work out a plea deal to keep you out of jail. If the prosecutor is unwilling to negotiate, an attorney can offer up mitigating circumstances to the judge and possibly get get the mandatory jail time suspended.
Q: What is a Habitual Violater? A: A "Habitual Violator" as outlined in KSA 8-285 is a person licensed in Kansas that within the past five years, has been convicted of three or more of any combination of the following offenses.
1. DUI (Including those on Diversion)
2. Vehicular Homicide (KSA 21-3405)
3. Driving While Suspended (KSA 8-262)
4. Driving While Revoked
5. Violation of the 5th Clause of (KSA 8-142)
6. Any Felony if a vehicle was used in the crime
7. Failureeee to stop at the scene of an accident and perform duties required by (KSA 8-1602-1604)
8. Driving with No Vehicle Liability Insurance (KSA 40-3104)
Q: What happens if I become a Habitual Violator? A: If you are deemed a habitual violator based on your record per KSA 8-285, your driving license will be revoked for three years.
Q: Can my license be suspended if I'm in an accident and I don't have insurance? A: Your license will be suspended unless proof of insurance is furnished to the Department of Revenue, Driver Control Bureau for the date of the accident, on the vehicle involved in the accident.
Q: Can my license be suspended even if I wasn't the driver? A: If you own the car then you can be subject to a suspension if the vehicle was involved in an accident even if you weren't the driver. (See KSA 40-3104 (h), KSA 40-3118.)
Q: If my license is suspended can I get a Hardship License?
A: No, Kansas has no provisions for a Hardship license. Simply put they do not exist in Kansas. View our blog post on hardship licenses.
Q: What kind of Punishment can I get for a second or subsequent conviction?
A: A second or subsequent conviction is punishable by up to a year in jail and is a Class A misdemeanor.